Chekov aka Koenig

Walter Koenig / Pavel Chekov

By Susan Chandler Kelley
Copyright 2009; do not reprint without permission

On this blog, I’ll discuss many unusual, quirky and interesting sites I’ve come across in my Web travels. Today the topic is Walter Koenig. His Website is maintained by a wonderful lady named Patty Wright (who also helps produce the Star Trek Phase II online episodes). It is the only authorized Website for Mr. Koenig and is available at: http://www.walterkoenigsite.com/

It is 9pm on a Friday night in 1967. A 10-year-old girl tunes in her favorite TV show, Star Trek, and notices a new character. This 20-something, attractive, mop-topped brunette guy speaks with an adorable (if sometimes inconsistent) Russian accent. The young girl melts. Fast-forward to Winter 1976. The now 19-year-old girl is in college and meets a 20-something, attractive, mop-topped brunette guy who speaks with an adorable accent. The young woman melts.

Not until a few months ago, when I  discovered Patty’s site and caught up with Walter Koenig via this site, did I realize what an incredible resemblance my first serious love object bore to Chekov. Her site contains many pics of Mr. Koenig and probably his best-known role, cheeky Chekov. These pics brought home my ‘transference’ of childhood infatuation for Chekov to his ‘lookalike’ that I met in college. ‘Tis a pleasant stroll down Memory Lane  and a  mother-lode of info on the multi-talented Mr. Koenig.

Patty’s Koenig site contains extensive info on Mr. Koenig, the actor. It also includes links to its sister site, devoted to all things Chekov (including some fun fanfiction). Mr. Koenig is best known for two polar opposite TV roles: Star Trek’s youthful Russian navigator,  Pavel Chekov (mentioned above), and Babylon 5’s ruthless Psi-Cop villain, Alfred Bester.

When I happened upon this site, I knew only these two roles. I had no idea how far Mr. Koenig’s talents ranged. He has performed in stage work as well as dozens of TV shows from ‘Day in Court’ to ‘The Starlost’.  (He played one particularly memorable role in ‘Alfred Hitchcock Hour’ as Tiger, a psychopathic gang leader in ‘Memo from Purgatory’, written by Harlan Ellison.)  Mr. Koenig not only performed in all the franchised Star Trek movies, but also has recently starred in 2 Star Trek Webisodes (accessible from Patty’s Koenig site):  “To Serve All My Days” and “Of Gods and Men”.

Mr. Koenig possesses many writing credits, many more than mentioned here. He penned a satirical SF novel, Buck Alice and the Actor Robot and an unusal play You’re Never Alone When You’re A Schizophrenic.  He published a very honest, informative autobiography, Warped Factors, that was so engrossing I sped thru it in 3 hours. It was by turns ROFL funny and heart-tuggingly touching. He has  recently written, produced and performed in movies including The Bone Eaters, Mad Cowgirl, and Inalienable. (All three of these movies are accessible from Patty’s Koenig site.) Amazingly, he still finds time to write, teach, and  work with charities and a human rights campaign, Free Burma.

Even more amazingly, Mr. Koenig is the only one of the original major Star Trek characters who has not received a star on the Walk of Fame. Patty’s site includes a section with info on the campaign to get Mr. Koenig his star and on how to petition the Walk of Fame committee to this end. I am writing another petition to the Walk of Fame committee and hope you will also.

Patty’s thorough,  fully fleshed, fun site includes sections for his bio, credits, petition for his Walk of Fame star, appearances, photo gallery, fan gallery, current news, the Burma campaign, and the sister site devoted to Pavel Chekov.

Additionally, there’s an excellent review of Mr. Koenig’s autobiography, Warped Factors, at: http://cromely.blogspot.com/2009/01/book-review-37-warped-factors-neurotics.html

Also, there’s a list of many other Koenig/Chekov/Bester (mostly fanfiction)  Websites at: http://www.geocities.com/milkywayfarer/koenig.html


[Please remember to write the Hollywood Walk of Fame Committee to ask them to award Walter Koenig a star on the Walk of Fame. See WOFS blog for more info: Walter Koenig’s Star ]

MilkyWayfarer's Blog

Add to Technorati Favorites

14 Responses to “Chekov aka Koenig”

  1. Your blog is very interesting. Even though I’m not a Star Trek fan, I did find the info interesting and intriguing. Plus, I learned something new about you. A friend has mentioned the chemo brain side effect. Wish it wasn’t so. I look forward to “traveling” more with you to unusual sites.

  2. I enjoyed this article. I really like Star Trek. I like to find out about unusual sites too.

  3. Stellaria Says:

    This blog is both interesting and entertaining since you cover serious issues like chemo brain and light-hearted sites like Walter Koenig’s site. I really like Mr. Koenig’s work and will visit his site to write a letter for his Walk of Fame star campaign. Look forward to more.

  4. I forgot to mention – why don’t you do an article on Star Trek TOS sites? Maybe on DC Fontana and Harlan Ellison since they both wrote for ST? I’d really like to see that!

  5. This topic is quite hot on the Internet right now. What do you pay the most attention to when choosing what to write ?

    • ~~ @Vince, @Irra, @buch, @pras, @matt, @christopher, @Peter, @MK, @Stellaria, @CH, @Angie, @JohnJ, @ArtsySmartsy, @BT, @deslily, @Ron, @ongames, @entertainment:
      — Thank you all so much for visiting & taking the time to post a comment! 🙂 Blog is updated every 1-2 weeks, so check back for new articles.
      ~~ @HowToGet:
      — I just write about whatever I find that interests me and is not already over-hyped. I like to cover small sites not covered by regular media. My interests range far and wide so there’s never a lack of topics. 🙂

  6. Irrathekssted Says:

    I’ll share it on Twitter.

  7. Vince Delmonte Says:

    If you want to read a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this article for four from five. Detailed info, but I have to go to that @*%# msn to find the missed bits. Thank you, anyway!

  8. @ ALL:
    Thank you very much! I hope you’ll visit again and check out the other articles. I write about a variety of topics including the weird of the Web, science fiction, entertainment, arts and more.
    ~MilkyWayfarer
    https://milkywayfarer.wordpress.com

  9. Greetings

    I just wanted to make a statement on the contribution of this community here. It’s amazing.

    I wanted to give a little something back myself

    There is a site that has been plenty helpful to myself and some associates of mine. That site is OnlineComputerHelpers.com and they offer remote pc computer repair

    I hope that my aid has been substantial and you also are able to utilize their services just as I have.

  10. Привет!! – Поздравляю, замечательная идея и своевременно
    а если помешать со словами японские запчасти? 😉

  11. Hi All

    I just wanted to start by saying that the presence here is simply amazing. I think everyone does a fine job here and just wanted to make that known.

    With that being said, I wanted to take a moment to note a site that I found to be helpful during the decision making process while purchasing Angels Eyes. AngelsEyesReview.com has been a tremendous help in the process and hope you can benefit in the same way.

  12. Great article! I bet a lot of work went into this post.

Leave a Reply

